People

The following people constitute the National Sustainability Society Planning Committee:

Arun Agrawal

Co-chair, NSS Planning Committee

Samuel Trask Dana Professor of Sustainability and Development, School for the Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan: arunagra@umich.edu


Chris Boone

Co-chair, NSS Planning Committee

Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures, Arizona State University: cgboone@asu.edu


Dan Brown

Co-chair, NSS Planning Committee

Professor and Director, Environmental and Forest Sciences, College of the Environment, University of Washington: danbro@uw.edu


Josh Abbott

Professor and Director, School of Sustainability, Arizona State University: Joshua.K.Abbott@asu.edu


Nicole Ardoin

Director, Emmett Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources (E-IPER) and Associate Professor, Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability: nmardoin@stanford.edu


Lori Bennear

Professor of Energy Economics and Policy, Stanback Dean of the Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University: lori.bennear@duke.edu


Monica Contestabile

Chief Editor, Nature Sustainability

Jay Golden

Pontarelli Professor of Environmental Sustainability and Finance, Public Administration and International Affairs Department, Syracuse University: jgolde04@syr.edu


Lisa Graumlich

Professor, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences, and Dean Emerita, College of the Environment, University of Washington: graumlic@uw.edu


Jim Hanna

Director, Datacenter Community Development, Microsoft: jimhanna@microsoft.com


Mark Hartmann

Chief Sustainability Officer, City of Phoenix, Arizona: mark.hartman@phoenix.gov


Marilu Hastings

Executive Vice President, Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation: 

Jessica Hellman

Executive Director,  Institute on the Environment, and Distinguished McKnight University Professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior in the College of Biological Sciences, University of Minnesota: hellmann@umn.edu


Krista Hiser

Senior Lead and Advisor for Sustainability Education, Global Council on Science and the Environment. Professor of Composition & Rhetoric, Kapi‘olani Community College: krista@gcseglobal.org


Elena Irwin

Distinguished Professor of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences in Economics and Sustainability; Faculty Director, Sustainability Institute, Ohio State University: irwin.78@osu.edu


Wendy Jepson

Professor, Department of Geography, Associate Director, Texas Water Resources Institute and AgriLife Dallas Research Center, Texas A&M University: wjepson@tamu.edu


Ryan Johnson

Executive Director, Executive and Professional Education, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures, Arizona State University: Ryan.M.Johnson@asu.edu

Cynthia Koenig

Founder & CEO, Wello. Principal Product Manager, Amazon: 

Garrick Louis

Associate Professor, Engineering Systems and Environment, Engineering & Society, University of Virginia: gel7f@virginia.edu


Amy Luers

Global Director, Sustainability Science, Microsoft.

Jonathan Overpeck

Samuel A. Graham Dean; William B. Stapp Collegiate Professor of Environmental Education; Professor, Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering; Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences, School for the Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan: seas-dean@umich.edu

Diane Pataki

Foundation Professor, School of Sustainability, Arizona State University: diane.pataki@asu.edu


Anu Ramaswami

Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Sanjay Swani ’87 Professor of India Studies, Princeton University: anu.ramaswami@princeton.edu


Casandra Rauser

Independent Sustainability Researcher: darwinista@gmail.com


Bruno Sarda

Partner/Principal, Climate Change and Sustainability Services, EY, Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability, Arizona State University: bruno.sarda@asu.edu


Karen Seto

Frederick C. Hixon Professor of Geography and Urbanization Science, Director of the Hixon Center for Urban Ecology, Yale School of the Environment: karen.seto@yale.edu

Benjamin Sovacool

Director of the Boston University Institute for Global Sustainability (IGS) and Professor in the Department of Earth & Environment, Boston University: sovacool@bu.edu


Maya Tolstoy

Maggie Walker Dean, College of the Environment, University of Washington: envdean@uw.edu


Marco Ugarte

Director of Sustainability, Walmart: Gustavo.Ugarte@asu.edu

Cristy Watkins

Sustainability and Development Program Manager, School for the Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan: watkinsc@umich.edu